New Men In Black Gets An International Subtitle

by Erik Amaya

Sony’s upcoming Men In Black continuation finally has a proper name, Men in Black International, according to the film’s Facebook account.
The film stars Tessa Thompson as a new recruit to the British branch of the Men in Black ran by Agent O (Emma Thompson). She’s assigned to a veteran agent (Chris Hemsworth) who must teach her the ropes while some alien menace arrives to threaten the planet. Rebecca Ferguson, Liam Neeson, Kumail Nanjiani and Rafe Spall are also set to appear.

Men in Black International is, of course based on the Men in Black comic book series by Lowell Cunningham with Sandy Carruthers on art. The original three-issue miniseries told the exploits of Agents Kay and Jay as they dealt with supernatural threats to the status quo. In a subsequent miniseries and a number of one-shots, an agent named Ecks learns the truth about the Men in Black and goes rogue. Besides the naming convention and the sleek suits, the series also introduced the neuralyzer; an important device in the film series.
Tommy Lee Jones and Will Smith played Agents K and J in the first three Men in Black films. It is said the International will recognize those films as part of the past while charting its own future.
Men in Black International is set for release on June 14, 2019.
(h/t IGN)

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: