ComiXology Originals Debuts New Fantasy Comic Delver By Trotman, Reed & Hawken

by Olly MacNamee

Written by Iron Circus Comics founder C. Spike Trotman and YA author MK Reed, with art by Clive Hawken, ComiXology welcomes new 5 part fantasy series, Delver, to their ranks. But, a fantasy comic with a difference as it aims to explore modern day social issues but within a fantasy setting.

A new twist on the classic fantasy story, Trotman, Reed, and Hawken provide a modern-day allegory in an epic tale with Delver.  When the door to a dungeon surfaces in the tiny village of Oddgoat and droves of newcomers arrive, the influx threatens the livelihoods of longtime residents – including teen Temerity Aster and her family. As wild magic and gentrification increase, Temerity is forced to make a choice: abandon the only home she’s ever known to carpet baggers and sellswords, or delve into the new and dangerous dungeon below in the hopes of finding unclaimed gold and treasure to support her family.

It’s a digital only exclusive and it’s out now. Here’s a look at some of the interior pages to help you decide whether it’s your thing or not.

And here’s what co-writer Trotman had to add:

Delver is a fantasy adventure for folks who loved Terry Pratchett’s self-described ‘unimaginative’ approach to world-building; an insistence on asking questions, wanting to know why and how things worked the way they did. In my case, Delver is my answer to ‘Where are all these abandoned, treasure-laden dungeons coming from, anyway? And what happens when you unload all that loot in the tiny hamlet down the road?’ It’s for fans of Critical Role, Ursula K. LeGuin novels, and The Adventure Zone. And it’s a story I’ve been wanting to tell for years.

ComiXology Unlimited offers over 20,000 comics, graphic novels and manga for just $5.99 a month with a 30-day free trial at comixology.com/unlimited.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: