Portsmouth Comic Con 2019: The Tripwire Award Winners

by Olly MacNamee

The first Tripwire Awards were announced on Saturday evening of Portsmouth Comic Con hosted by the madcap Jasper Bark, who had us all laughing in what turned out to be a rather short affair, but one that I have no doubt will grow in future years. Obviously, as an award ceremony voted for by the public and heavily favouring American comics, and therefore American creators, many of the recipients weren’t there in person, but Best Writer winner Tom King did send a message via a voice recording which was a nice touch. A further highlights was when Scott Dunbier accepted the award for Bill Sienkiewicz for “Best Collection” and had us all sing Happy Birthday to him via FaceTime, or some other such video conferencing app.

So, without further ado (as they say) here’s all the winners for this year’s awards…

Best Colourist

  • Laura Allred

 Best Letterer

  • Aditya Bidikar

Best Writer Sponsored by Scott’s Collectables

  • Tom King (Batman, Mister Miracle)

Best Artist Sponsored by Scott’s Collectables

  • Sean Phillips (Kill Or Be Killed, Criminal)

Best Cover Artist Sponsored by Scott’s Collectables

  • Amanda Conner (various)

Best New Series Sponsored by Dark Horse Comics

  • Mister Miracle (Tom King / Mitch Gerads, DC Comics)

Best Publisher

  • Image Comics

Best New Talent Sponsored By Vault Comics

  • Russell Mark Olson (Gateway City)

Best Original Graphic Novel

  • All My Heroes Have Been Junkies (Ed Brubaker / Sean Phillips, Image Comics)

Best Collection Sponsored By Vault Comics

  • Bill Sienkiewicz’s Mutants and Moon Knights: Artifact Edition (Bill Sienkiewicz, IDW Publishing)

Best Comics-Related Website / Publication

  • Comic Scene UK

The ROLL OF HONOUR Sponsored by Soaring Penguin Press

  • Walter Simonson
  • Bill Sienkiewicz

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: