Skybound Wraps Up A Decade-Long Epic ‘Heart Attack’ With New Collection And New Chapters

by Olly MacNamee

In a second announcement from Skybound toady, we get news of announced the release of Heart Attack, collecting Heart Attack #1-6 as well as six all-new chapters concluding this decade-old epic story. And coming from writer Shawn Kittelsen (Injustice 2, Mortal Kombat 11), artist Eric Zawadzki (Skybound Presents Afterschool) and colourist Mike Spicer (Stillwater).

Kittelsen explains why it’s taken this long to wrap up:

“Heart Attack began 10 years ago as a story about young lovers fighting for equal rights in a post-pandemic future. But with every year since 2013, that future became disturbingly present, from videos of police killings to mass protests to authoritarian politicians, to a real pandemic in 2020. To cap things off, I survived an actual heart attack in 2022. So I feel an urgency to tell this story, and I’m grateful to be here with Eric. Not just to hold up a mirror to the problems of today, but to imagine a way forward for tomorrow. This book is about fighting injustice with the best weapons we have, truth and love.” 

Zawadzki added:

“I am beyond thrilled to have the never-before-seen entire 12-chapter story of Heart Attack presented in one big collection. Everyone on the team put their all into this project and I couldn’t be more excited to share this epic love story with the world.” 

Here’s a reminder of the story so far:

“Gene therapy has saved Americans from disease—only to give birth to Variants: people with powers so unique, the government denies their human rights. But a new rebellion begins when Charlie North and Jill Kearney learn their instant attraction unlocks powers of mass destruction and forces them to question how far they should go to topple the system. “

Heart Attack will be available at comic book stores  and digital platforms on Wednesday, September 27th, 2023, and everywhere books are sold on Tuesday, October 3rd, 2023.

%d bloggers like this: