Jeff Lemire And David Rubin Launch Sherlock Frankenstein Miniseries In Black Hammer Universe This Fall

by Hannah Means Shannon

Dark Horse have announced the first spin-off series set within the universe of Black Hammer, a possibility which has been teased for some time, and concerning a universe already expanded through the publication of an annual.
The original series created by Jeff Lemire and Dean Ormston features a cast of Golden Age comic characters trapped in a retcon that situates them well-hidden in a small town.
The new miniseries, Sherlock Frankenstein and the Legion of Evil, is going to be written by Lemire and drawn by David Rubin (Ether), and will explore the origins of one of Black Hammer’s supervillains. It’s set to arrive for its first issue in on October 18th, 2017.

Dark Horse also says that this series is only “the first of several high profile mini-series featuring different artists” spinning out of Black Hammer.
Lemire says:

While working on Black Hammer I found myself having more and more ideas for other types of superhero stories. The main Black Hammer story continues to be the spine of these ideas, but I found them branching off into new directions and new characters as well. It occurred to me that there was a whole history here, a whole superhero universe all of our own, that I could explore and create within. So, Dean Ormston and I have decided to expand the world of Black Hammer and create an avenue to tell these other stories.

Dean Ormston explains:

Lucy Weber, the daughter of the Black Hammer, is an investigative newspaper reporter, and her search for the truth about her father leads her to some very dark places. In Sherlock Frankenstein & The Legion of Evil, Lucy heads to Spiral City’s infamous asylum to confront the world’s greatest super villains and the secrets they have locked away.

Lemire also adds:

The World of Black Hammer has become my favorite place to be. The last thing I want to do is exploit the fans of Black Hammer with needless spin offs or tie-ins that they have to read to get the whole story. So, these new mini-series, like the regular ongoing Black Hammer series, will stand alone and tell complete, self-contained stories.

The first issue of the four issue miniseries Sherlock Frankenstein & The Legion of Evil will arrive on October 18th, 2017, featuring a main cover by Rubín and a variant cover by Hellboy creator Mike Mignola.

%d bloggers like this: