Inkwell Awards Voting Is Open

by James Ferguson

The Inkwell Awards are back and you can help decide who wins in all five categories. The official public ballot is open now through February 29th, 2020 on the Inkwell homepage. This is the only non-profit organization devoted to public education and promotion of the art of comic book inking. The ballot covers all printed American comics cover-dated in 2019.

The five categories are:

  • Favorite Inker
  • Most Adaptable
  • Props (Inkers deserving more attention)
  • The S.P.A.M.I. (Small Press And Mainstream / Independent for non-Marvel / DC work)
  • All-in-One (Artists who ink their own pencils).

Bob Almond, founder and director of The Inkwell Awards says:

This is the second ballot with our revamped nomination procedure where inkers could submit their work in addition to those chosen by our internal nomination committee. It made a huge difference and we’re thrilled to see many inkers submit their own work and several get nominated.

The winners will be announced at the live awards ceremony during The Great Philadelphia Comic Con in Oaks, PA during the weekend of April 3rd – 5th. The internally-chosen lifetime achievement accolades, the Joe Sinnott Hall of Fame award, and the Stacey Aragon Special Recognition Award (SASRA) will also be announced at that time.
Almond continued:

For years, too many inkers are passed over and go unnoticed by most awards events. Ours caters specifically to ink artists, allowing them to be recognized and appreciated for their best work. We encourage any and all who appreciate great artwork to participate and share on social media; the more voters, the better.

%d bloggers like this: