Ringo Awards Deadline Extended To July 24th For Fan And Pro Voting

by Hannah Means Shannon

The Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Awards also known as “The Ringo Awards”  are going to be  presented on the evening of Saturday, September 23, 2017 as part of  Baltimore Comic-Con. The Ringo Awards is currently in the midst of the 2017 nomination process, which includes voting by fans and comic book professionals alike. You can submit your nominations here.
The Ringo Awards have announced that due to a “steady and growing influx of nominations”, they are extending their original voting deadline to midnight on July 24, 2017.
Professional voting on the final ballot is still slated to be available starting on July 26th. A press release will announce the final ballot at the start of pro voting.
Here are the Fan and Pro Nomination Categories:
* Best Cartoonist (Writer/Artist)
* Best Writer
* Best Artist or Penciller
* Best Inker
* Best Letterer
* Best Colorist
* Best Cover Artist
* Best Series
* Best Single Issue or Story
* Best Original Graphic Novel
* Best Anthology
* Best Humor Comic
* Best Comic Strip or Panel
* Best Webcomic
* Best Non-fiction Comic Work
* Best Presentation in Design
There is also a Jury-Only Nomination (with three bonus jurors) for:
* The Mike Wieringo Spirit Award
Here are the Fan-Only Favorite Categories:
* Favorite Hero
* Favorite Villain
* Favorite New Series
* Favorite New Talent
And also the Hero Initiative Awards (selected by the Hero Initiative):
* The Hero Initiative Lifetime Achievement Award
* The Dick Giordano Humanitarian Award
So get your votes in now, and spread the word to everyone you know who is a comics reader, creator, or pro in a related field, and let them know the deadline has been extended to include their votes, too.
Comicon.com’s Executive Editor, Hannah Means-Shannon, will be taking part in the Ringo Awards this year as a judge, representing pop culture journalism in this voting process.

About Mike Wieringo
Michael Lance “Mike” Wieringo was known to fans and friends as “Ringo”, which is how he signed his artwork. His comics artist graced the pages of DC Comics’ The Flash, Adventures of Superman, Batman, and Robin, Marvel Comics’ Fantastic Four, Friendly Neighborhood Spider-Man, Sensational Spider-Man, and Rogue, and his co-creation Tellos. He passed away on August 12, 2007 at the young age of 44 from an apparent heart attack.

About the Ringo Awards
The Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Awards is an annual celebration of the creativity, skill and fun of comics. The Ringo Awards recognize outstanding achievements in over 20 categories, and are the only industry awards nominated by fans and pros alike, with final voting by the comic professional community. Launched in 2017, the awards ceremony is held annually at the Baltimore Comic-Con. Further details are available at www.ringoawards.com.

%d bloggers like this: